News Releases

Friday, April 15, 2011

Isakson, Miller Introduce Bipartisan Resolution Honoring Soldiers for Service in Iraq, Afghanistan

WASHINGTON - U.S. Senator Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., and U.S. Rep. Jeff Miller (FL-01) this week introduced identical resolutions in the Senate and House honoring the service and sacrifice of members of the United States Armed Forces who are deployed now or who have served in Operation Enduring Freedom in Afghanistan or Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation New Dawn in Iraq.

Isakson serves on the Senate Committee on Veterans' Affairs and Miller serves as the chairman of the House Committee on Veterans' Affairs.

"The men and women in our country who have answered the call of duty of the United States have made tremendous sacrifices in leaving their homes and their families to serve our nation. In some cases, they have paid the ultimate sacrifice," said Isakson. "I hope all Americans will join me in honoring the brave members of our Armed Forces who deeply deserve our gratitude for ensuring the safety and security of our country and our cherished freedoms."

Over 2 million members of the United States Armed Forces have deployed to theaters of war since the commencement of Operation Enduring Freedom, Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation New Dawn, and many have been deployed for multiple tours of duty. More than 5,500 troops have been killed while serving in Iraq or Afghanistan, and tens of thousands have been seriously wounded in the line of duty.

"America's Armed Forces personify patriotism, service, duty, and courage. We, as a Nation, should never take for granted that our freedom is not free. It is paid for through the sacrifices of our men and women in uniform and their families. Through this Resolution, we call on all citizens of the United States to honor the 2 million service members who have fought for us in Iraq and Afghanistan, and to support their families here at home. We especially keep the families of the fallen in our hearts, and those who have been wounded in defense of our Nation in our prayers," stated Miller.

The resolution honoring these troops has garnered bipartisan support in both chambers of Congress. Cosponsors of the Senate version, S.Con.Res.13, include Senators Begich, D-Alaska, Boozman, R-Ark., Brown, R-Mass., Burr, R-N.C., Johanns, R-Neb., Moran, R-Kan., Murray, D-Wash., Sanders, I-Vt., and Webb, D-Va. Cosponsors of the House version include Representatives Filner (CA-51), Roe (TN-01), Bilirakis (FL-09), Lamborn (CO-05), Michaud (ME-02), Johnson (OH-06), Barrow (GA-12), Denham (CA-19), Runyan (NJ-03), and Huelskamp (KS-01).