News Releases

Monday, May 15, 2017

Isakson, Perdue Recognize National Police Week

Honor Georgia officers killed in line of duty on Peace Officers Memorial Day

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., and David Perdue, R-Ga., today co-sponsored a Senate resolution to honor law enforcement officers in Georgia and across the country by designating the week of May 15-21, 2017, as National Police Week. Today, May 15, is also Peace Officers Memorial Day.

The resolution recognizes the 143 law enforcement officers across the United States killed in the line of duty in 2016 and remembers 42 law enforcement officers who were killed during the first four months of 2017. Additionally, the resolution expresses strong support for law enforcement officers’ efforts to build safer and more secure communities and recognizes the members of the law enforcement community for their selfless acts of bravery.

“Our law enforcement officers dedicate themselves to the betterment of their communities, regardless of personal risk,” said Senator Isakson. “Declaring this week as National Police Week in recognition of our law enforcement communities’ sacrifices and bravery is but a small token of gratitude to these officers and their families. We honor all who serve and offer our final respects to those who have paid the ultimate sacrifice to keep our families and our communities safe.” 

“This week we thank the women and men who put their lives on the line every day to keep our communities safe,” said Senator Perdue. “Our police officers are always a call away and the first to lend a helping hand when they see someone in need. It’s because of their bravery and swift actions that countless lives are saved every day in Georgia. I join Georgians and Americans in thanking our police officers for their hard work and remembering our fallen heroes who have been killed in the line of duty.”

In Georgia, several law enforcement officers paid the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty in 2016, including Gregory Barney of the Riverdale Police Department, Patrick Carothers of the U.S. Marshals Service, Anthony Freeman of the Bibb County Sheriff’s Office, Daryl Smallwood of the Peach County Sheriff’s Office, Nicholas Smarr of the Americus Police Department, Timothy Smith of the Eastman Police Department, Jody Smith of the Georgia Southwestern State University Police Department, Patrick Sondron of the Peach County Sheriff’s Office, and Justin White of the Newton County Sheriff’s Office.

The Senate resolution was introduced by U.S. Sen. Chuck Grassley, R-Iowa, and is co-sponsored by 62 senators including Isakson and Perdue.                                                           

The full text of the resolution can be found here