News Releases

Friday, May 13, 2016

Isakson Remembers Fallen Law Enforcement Officers, Honors Those Who Serve

Eight Georgia officers paid ultimate sacrifice in line of duty in 2015

WASHINGTON – In anticipation of Peace Officers Memorial Day on May 15, U.S. Senator Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., today co-sponsored legislation to honor law enforcement officers by designating the week of May 15-21, 2016, as National Police Week.

In addition to recognizing those officers who have paid the ultimate sacrifice, the resolution expresses strong support for law enforcement officers across the United States for their efforts to build safer and more secure communities.

“I have the utmost appreciation and respect for our law enforcement officers who willingly dedicate their lives for the betterment of our communities,” said Isakson. “Their daily sacrifices and those of their families are to be commended. We especially remember those who have made the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty, and our thoughts and prayers are with their families and loved ones.” 

Peace Officers Memorial Day 2016 honors 123 law enforcement officers recently killed in the line of duty.

In Georgia, eight law enforcement officers paid the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty in 2015: Richard Allen Hall of the Chatham County sheriff’s office, Darryl Deon Wallace of the Clayton County police department, Kevin Jermaine Toatley of the DeKalb County police department, Police Office Terence Avery Green of the Fulton County police department, James Bryan McCrystal, Sr., of the Georgia Department of Corrections, Gregory Dale Mitchell of the Georgia Department of Corrections, William Matthew Solomon of the Georgia Ports Authority police department, and Ladson Lamar O’Connor of the Montgomery County sheriff’s office.

The Senate resolution was introduced by U.S. Sen. Chuck Grassley, R-Iowa.

Full text of the resolution is below. 

A Resolution Designating the week of May 15 through May 21, 2016, as ‘‘National Police Week’’.

Whereas, in 1962, John Fitzgerald Kennedy signed the Joint Resolution entitled ‘‘Joint Resolution to authorize the President to proclaim May 15 of each year as Peace Officers Memorial Day and the calendar week of each year during which such May 15 occurs as Police Week’’ (36 U.S.C. 136);

Whereas Federal, State, local, and tribal police officers, sheriffs, and other law enforcement officers across the United States serve with valor, dignity and integrity;

Whereas law enforcement officers are charged with pursuing justice for all individuals and performing their duties with fidelity to the constitutional and civil rights of the individuals that the law enforcement officers serve;

Whereas, in 2016, the Senate solemnly commemorates the 25th anniversary of the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial, a national monument that pays homage to the more than 20,000 law enforcement heroes who made the ultimate sacrifice for the safety and protection of the United States and its people;

Whereas, in 2016, on the 15th anniversary of the September 11th terrorist attacks against the United States, the Senate honors the memory of those who perished, including the 72 law enforcement officers who were lost on that fateful day, and recognizes the tireless efforts of the law enforcement community to protect the citizenry and homeland through diligent investigations that disrupt terrorist plots, stem the flow of financing to terrorist networks, and bring evildoers to justice;

Whereas law enforcement officers selflessly serve their neighborhoods, often at the risk of their own personal safety, and remain resolute in responding to calls for help despite their badges, at times, serving as a target for senseless acts of violence;

Whereas the vigilance, compassion, and decency of law enforcement officers are the best defense of society against individuals who prowl communities seeking to do harm;

Whereas Peace Officers Memorial Day, 2016, honors 123 law enforcement officers recently killed in the line of duty, including Joseph James Abdella, Gregory Thomas Alia, Darrell Lamond Allen, Adrian Arellano, James Matthew Bava, Gregg Anthony Benner, James Arthur Bennett, Jr., Sean Michael Bolton, Louis Michael Bonacasa, Robert James Bowling, Michael Alan Brandle, Vernell Brown, Jr., Stacey Lynn Case, Trevor John Casper, Craig Anthony Chandler, Eric Keith Chrisman, Michael Anthony Cinco, Neville S. K. Colburn, David Lee Colley, Rodney Condall, Ryan P. Copeland, Gil C. Datan, Christopher A. Davis, Timothy A. Davison, Benjamin Joseph Deen, Nicholas Glenn Dees, Diane Digiacomo, Daniel Neil Ellis, Eric Alan Eslary, Jared J. Forsyth, Carlos Diamond Francies, Donald R. Fredenburg, Jr., Ricardo Galvez, Eligio Ruiz Garcia, Jr., Johnny Edward Gatson, Juandre Devon Gilliam, Sr., Darren H. Goforth, John Ballard Gorman, Terence Avery Green, Arthur Adolph Green, III, Richard Allen Hall, Bryce Edward Hanes, Brent L. Hanger, Steven Brett Hawkins, Rosario Herna´ndez de Hoyos, Randolph A. Holder, Daryle S. Holloway, Carl G. Howell, Michael Jeremiah Johnson, Tronoski Dontel Jones, Jaimie Lynn Jursevics, William Karl Keesee, Christopher Dan Kelley, Korby Lee Kennedy, Sonny Lee Kim, Paul John Koropal, Thomas Joseph LaValley, Joseph G. Lemm, Noah Aaron Leotta, Anthony E. Lossiah, Scott Paul Lunger, Dwight Darren Maness, Richard K. Martin, Chester J. McBride, III, Eli M. McCarson, James Bryan McCrystal, Sr., John P. McKee, Roy D. McLaughlin, Eric O. Meier, Gregory Dale Mitchell, Charles Kerry Mitchum, Brian Raymond Moore, Gregory King Moore, William J. Myers, David Joseph Nelson, Henry Andres Nelson, Ladson Lamar O’Connor, Roger Monroe Odell, Kerrie Sue Orozco, Miguel Joseph Perez-Rios, Joseph Cameron Ponder, Brennan Roger Rabain, Jeffrey Emmons Radford, Anthony A. Raspa, Lloyd E. Reed, Jr., Sean Patrick Renfro, Burke Jevon Rhoads, Frank Roma´n-Rodr?´guez, Elsa L. Rosa-Ortiz, Steven Martin Sandberg, William C. Sheldon, Rick Lee Silva, Sonny Allan Smith, Iris Janett Smith, Nathan-Michael William Smith, William Matthew Solomon, Luz M. Soto-Segarra, Michael Lynn Starrett, John Scott Stevens, Garrett Preston Russell Swasey, Liquori Terja Tate, Peter Wagner Taub, Scott R. Thompson, Taylor Joseph Thyfault, Kevin Jermaine Toatley, Zacarias Toro, Jr., Clifford Scott Travis, Nathan John Van Oort, Sr., Peggy Marie Vassallo, Rosemary Vela, Steven J. Vincent, Adrianna Maria Vorderbruggen, Darryl Deon Wallace, James Marvin Wallen, Jr., Daniel Scott Webster, Josie Lamar Wells, Craig Stephen Whisenand, John James Wilding, Robert Francis Wilson, III, Chad H. Wolf, Richard Glenn Woods, Alex K. Yazzie, and Kyle David Young; and

Whereas 35 law enforcement officers across the United States have made the ultimate sacrifice during the first 4 months of 2016: Now, therefore, be it Resolved, That the Senate—

(1) designates the week of May 15 through May 21, 2016, as ‘‘National Police Week’’;

(2) expresses strong support for law enforcement officers across the United States for their efforts to build safer and more secure communities;

(3) recognizes the need to ensure that law enforcement officers have the equipment, training, and resources necessary to protect their health and safety while the law enforcement officers are protecting the public;

(4) recognizes the members of the law enforcement community for their selfless acts of bravery;

(5) acknowledges that police officers and other law enforcement officers who have made the ultimate sacrifice should be remembered and honored; and

6) encourages the people of the United States to observe National Police Week with appropriate ceremonies and activities that promote awareness of the vital role of law enforcement officers in building safer and more secure communities across the United States.