News Releases

Wednesday, April 6, 2005

Isakson Statement on Status
of Walker, Catoosa Counties
on EPA Nonattainment List

WASHINGTON - U.S. Senator Johnny Isakson (R-GA) today released the following statement regarding Walker and Catoosa counties remaining on the EPA's nonattainment list for fine particle pollution (PM 2.5):

"I'm disappointed in the decision by the Environmental Protection Agency to continue to classify Walker and Catoosa counties as nonattainment. These counties have been unfairly lumped in with nearby Chattanooga for purposes of testing even though their contribution to the regional pollution is negligible. I will continue to work with county officials, members of the Georgia delegation, and the EPA to get these counties on the list of those that meet federal air quality standards."