News Releases

Monday, June 5, 2017

Isakson Salutes Georgia Nominees Who Earned Appointments to U.S. Military Service Academies for Fall 2017

31 high school seniors appointed to military service academies

ATLANTA – U.S. Senator Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., on Sunday held a reception to congratulate 31 high school seniors from across Georgia who now have earned appointments to the United States military service academies.

Isakson nominated 15 of the 31 students. The 15 students appointed to the U.S. Coast Guard Academy and the U.S. Coast Guard Academy Preparatory School do not require a Congressional nomination. In addition, one of the 31 students received a presidential nomination to attend the U.S. Naval Academy.

“It is an honor each year to salute many of our state’s finest students who have chosen to pursue military service,” said Isakson. “I am so proud of these young Georgians, and I am confident they will make our state and nation proud, too.”

Members of Congress are tasked with nominating students to attend our nation’s military academies annually. Those nominees who are accepted into the academies are awarded full four-year scholarships that include tuition, books, room and board, medical and dental care. 

Isakson held a congratulatory reception for appointees and their families on June 4, 2017, in Atlanta, Ga.

The nominees accepted by the academies honored by Isakson on Sunday (listed with their hometowns) are:

U.S. Air Force Academy
Benjamin Daniel – Thomaston
Jackson Harris – Suwanee
Regan Harrison – Evans
Matthew Jones – Richmond Hill
James Lambert – Cumming
Sean McKendree – Norcross

U.S. Coast Guard Academy
Bridget Boyle – Dunwoody
Alyssa Easley – Milledgeville
Annabella Ferabaugh – Atlanta
Zachary Fedak – Evans
Mary Goins – Fayetteville
Patrick Gravalec – Marietta
Daniel Jenkins – Cumming
Bryan Landreth – Warner Robins
Hannah McTyre – Milledgeville
Thomas Sidener – Savannah
Zachary Stone – Fayetteville
Nicholas Szabo – Cumming
Briana Willis – Tyrone

U.S. Coast Guard Preparatory Academy
Julius Simmons – Robins Air Force Base

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
Daniel Fry – Norcross
William McCord – Sylvania

U.S. Military Academy
Benjamin Davis – Acworth
Sara Scales – Braselton
Tucker Sippola – Villa Rica

U.S. Naval Academy
C. Graham Daker – Marietta
W. “Gus” Goldman – Atlanta
Benjamin Johnson – Dunwoody
Christopher Kalafut – Acworth
*Katie Miller – Roswell
Avery Rodts – Atlanta

*Katie Miller of Roswell, Ga., received a presidential nomination.